Nyack College Hosted Annual Athletic Awards Banquet

Nyack College Hosted Annual Athletic Awards Banquet

NYACK, NY - The Nyack College Department of Athletics hosted its annual awards celebration on Sunday evening, April 15th at the institution's Pardington Hall Auditorium. 

It was a memorable night as the event not only marked the year-end accomplishments for the Warrior student-athletes, but recognized their 40 of their very own graduating seniors, who received their Nyack Athletics memorabilia.

Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR), Dr. Jonathan Gates, distributed the 2017-18 Academic Achievement Award which for the first time went to five student. Finn Reese, Sara Pereyra, Benjamin Tse, Kelsi Collins, and Alissa Brugnoli. Head Athletic Trainer, Penny Foland, along with her staff, Janice Yoon distributed the 2017-18 Dr. John J. Sonzogni Jr. Memorial Comeback Award to senior Gabriel Nunez Rivera (Carolina, PR) from baseball. 

This year's winners of the Harold W. Bowman Character Achievement Award went to junior Benjamin Tse (Penang, Malaysia) representing men's track & field and senior Katalina Padilla (Las Cruces, NM) representing softball. The 2017-18 Jonathan L. Gainer Four Year Sportsmanship Award went to senior Aferdita Sinanaj (Tappan, NY) hailing from the softball team as well. 

The 2017-18 Ernie Armoogam Warrior Award is given to one member of each team that best represents our Lord Jesus Christ to their team, opponents, fans, and community. The student athlete must have been eligible to participate in a varsity sport during the academic year for which the award is given and the individuals awarded were: Janelle Gabriele (Bloomingdale, NJ) for women's soccer, Brandon Melendez (Yonkers, NY) for men's soccer, Kelsi Collins (Tarpon Springs, FL) for volleyball, Benjamin Tse (Penang, Malaysia) for men's cross country and track & field, Lydia Chepkieng (E. Ravine, Kenya) for women's cross country and track & field, Imani Dawson (Laurel, MD) representing women's basketball, Lindsay Miller (Chandler, AZ) for lacrosse, Alissa Brugnoli (Hamilton, NJ) for softball, and Luke Kelly (Redding, CA) for baseball.  

Bowman Award Nominees: 

Julianna Kranes - women's lacrosse
Katalina Padilla - softball (winner)
Ariana Nash - women's xc and t&f
Jillian Smith - volleyball
Alexus Winters - volleyball
Larreya Hayden - volleyball
Sidney Gall - women's xc and t&f
Lindsay Miller - volleyball and women's lacrosse
Rebekah Lawler - women's soccer
Victoria Silvers - women's lacrosse
Micayla Brodish - women's t&f
Kelsi Collins - volleyball
Jessica Short - women's soccer and t&f
Megan Ma'afal-Maiava - volleyball
Alissa Brugnoli - softball
Aferdita Sinanaj - softball

Gabriel Nunez Rivera - baseball
Zachary Trador - men's xc and t&f 
Imran Ritchie - men's basketball
Yoni Rodriguez - baseball
Zachary Martirano - baseball
Ben Tse - men's t&f (winner)
Luke Kelly - baseball
Thomas Trott - men's xc and t&f

Jonathan L. Gainer Nominees:

Thomas Trott - men's xc and t&f
Aferdita Sinanaj - softball (winner)
Victoria Silvers - women's lacrosse
Katalina Padilla - softball 
Yoni Rodriguez - baseball
Sidney Gall - women's xc and t&f